Welcome to the show everyone, 

On episode 36 I share my experience of one of the cornerstones of yoga philosophy called “the 8 limbs of yoga.”  

The 8 limbs are a classical, old school, traditional way of practicing yoga. 

They are from an ancient text called The Yoga Sutras, and were compiled in the early centuries CE, by the sage Patanjali in India. Master Patanjali synthesized and organized knowledge about yoga from much older traditions.

Master Patanjali's collection of Sanskrit sutras that attempt to systematize yoga. The 196 aphorisms, once unpacked, can help us with the theory and practice of yoga. The Sutras form a practical guide on the subject of how to attain liberation from suffering. 

Patanjali’s yoga method is concerned with control. Control of Body, Mind and Senses. 

Think of a flower with 8 petals and each petal represents a practice. The 8 petals on that flower are the 8 limbs:


  1. Restraint(s) or Abstentations 
  2. Observance
  3. Posture
  4. Breath Control
  5. Withdrawal of the Senses
  6. Concentration
  7. Meditation
  8. Pure Contemplation/Ecstasy

I hope that this episode can inspire you to uncover the philosophy embedded in and behind the asana practice. May it fuel your practice and personal transformation!!!!

The Jai Sugrim Method Podcast is sponsored by Commons CBD

I use commons cbd daily to reduce exercise induced inflammation, as well as for good sleep.
You can order Cannabis Products from Commons with my ambassador link:


To train with Jai, and learn about his yoga classes and massage therapy treatments:


To Join The Art of Aging Book Club: 


To support this podcast go to patreon:


Enjoy and share this episode!

May it bring You Insight! 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *